Honours and Awards

The Canadian Academy of Audiology Awards Committee would like to draw your attention to the CAA Awards Program. This program supports the recognition of those who have made significant contributions to our profession.

Moneca Price Humanitarian Award

The award is presented to an audiologist in recognition of extraordinary humanitarian and community service, above and beyond the requirements of employment. The award is to honour Moneca Price who took on significant leadership roles in both the Canadian Academy of Audiology (CAA) and the College of Audiologists and Speech Language Pathologists of Ontario (CASLPO).

President’s Award

Given in recognition of outstanding contribution to the development of the Academy (nominated by the President of the Academy, with the unanimous consent of the Board of Directors).

2016 Winner: Gurjit Singh

Student Awards

Presented to an outstanding Audiology graduate student in Canada for academic or clinical excellence, outstanding research, or community service. Each Canadian program may nominate one student to be considered. The student award winner will be provided a plaque or certificate, one year’s membership in CAA, and complimentary conference registration to the CAA conference in order to receive their award.

2016 Winners:

Kathryn Toner, Western University
Rae Riddler, University of British Columbia
Emilia Collagrosso, University of Ottawa
Andréanne Sharp, Université de Montréal
Laura MacDougall, Dalhousie University

Paul Kuttner Pioneer Award

Awarded to a pioneer in Audiology in Canada, who has “boldly gone where no one has gone before” and been the “first” to embark on a new program or procedure which has impacted audiology service delivery in Canada.

2016 Winner: Odilia MacDonald

Jean Kienapple Award for Clinical Excellence

Awarded to recognize clinicians who deliver outstanding clinical services on an ongoing basis, as recognized by peers and clients.

2016 Winners: Karin Bork, Kathleen Jones

William Cole Industry Award

Awarded to an individual or group of individuals working within the industry supporting hearing healthcare and hearing loss management. The award is given in recognition of outstanding achievement or contribution to improved hearing function; education and support of hearing healthcare providers; or outstanding humanitarian action to under-served populations affected by hearing loss.

2015 Winner: William Cole

Honours of the Academy

For outstanding contribution to audiology or a related field; such as the development of a significant clinical program, test procedure or protocol, an outstanding research project, teaching or mentoring, excellence in management of an audiology or related program, contribution to the field through advocacy or outstanding public relations efforts.

2016 Winner: George Mencher

Richard Seewald Career Award

Awarded to recognize a career in research, clinical practice, teaching, and/or mentoring young people. The candidate must have made significant contributions to the knowledge base, practice and/or teaching of audiology or a related field and have had a long term professional career.

2016 Winner: Jos Eggermont

Clinical Research Grant

For more details on the Clinical Research Grant click here.

CAA University Challenge Cup

Students from each graduating class, currently enrolled in a Canadian audiology program are invited to participate in promoting the field of audiology by creating promotional material. The promotional material will be used for the promotion of audiology month in October.  The winning school will be presented with the CAA University Challenge trophy.

2016 Winner: Université de Montréal

Watch the Qu’est-ce qu’un audiologiste? / What is an Audiologist? video